SMU’s Svendsen Named C-USA Swimmer of the Year

April 17, 2010 by · 1 Comment 

By Nate Regan

SMU’s Therese Svendsen was named the 2010 Conference USA Swimmer of the Year Friday by the league’s head coaches following her 13th-place finish in the 100-yard backstroke at the NCAA Championships last month in Indianapolis, Ind.

At the Conference USA Championships in Houston in February, Svendsen posted an NCAA “A” qualifying time of 52.65 seconds with her first-place finish in the 100 back.

She also won the 200-yard backstroke with a time of 1:54.98, helping the Mustangs to their fifth consecutive conference title.

In addition, the sophomore from Malmo, Sweden, earned NCAA “B” qualifying times in both the 100 back (1:02.84) and 200 back (2:16.05) at the Missouri Grand Prix in early February.

Svendsen’s Swimmer of the Year award comes after she was named C-USA Freshman of the Year in 2009.

SMU Diver Wins Service Award

March 31, 2010 by · Comments Off 

By Robby Gillespie

SMU women’s diver Audra Egenolf was named one of the 12 recipients of the Conference USA Spirit of Service Award Wednesday, recognizing her service in the community and high academic standing.

Egenolf is a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and the Lamda Delta Honor Society. Her strong acadmeic achievements helped the Mustangs’ swimming and diving team win the CSCAA Scholar-Athlete Award for its Fall 2009 performance in the classroom.

In support of National Girls in Sports Day, Egenolf volunteered her time at the Tour de Fuer race water stations assissting participants.

The junior diver posted a seventh-place finish in the 3-meter dive at nationals for SMU.

The Spirit of Service award is presented three times throughout the season, with Wednesday’s honorees representing Conference USA’s winter sports: basketball, indoor track and field and swimming and diving.

Allison Spivey, East Carolina, Women’s Basketball
Roxana Button, Houston, Women’s Basketball
Lauren DeHays, Marshall, Women’s Indoor Track and Field
Steffen Nerdal, Memphis, Men’s Indoor Track and Field
Shyrelle Horne, Rice, Women’s Basketball
Audra Egenolf, SMU, Women’s Swimming and Diving
Pauline Love, Southern Miss, Women’s Basketball
Nicolette Taku, Tulane, Women’s Indoor Track and Field
Jessica Ford, Tulsa, Women’s Indoor Track and Field
Amanda Peterson, UAB, Women’s Basketball
LaKendra Thames, UCF, Women’s Indoor Track and Field
Hans Eriksson, UTEP, Men’s Indoor Track and Field

SMU Swimming and Diving Dominates Day One at C-USA Tournament

February 24, 2010 by · Comments Off 

By Robby Gillespie

The SMU men’s and women’s swim teams took over first place Wednesday on the first day of the Conference USA Championships in Houston. The men earned 113 points while the women totaled 80 points.

Gabriella Soza, Denisa Smolenova, Devon Callaghan and Justine ClarkIn won the women’s 200-yard medley relay, posting an NCAA “B” Qualifying time. The women also took first place finish in the 800-yard freestyle relay with another NCAA “B” Qualifying time. Sascha Van Den Branden and Therese Svendsen joined Callaghan and Clark on the team.

Matthew Culbertson led the Mustangs out of the blocks, winning the 1-meter diving with a score of 361.45. The men also won both the 200-yard medley and 800-yard freestyle relays. Nate Clark, Ed Downes, Blaz Korosec and Mindaugas Sadauskas made up the first place squad.

The Conference USA Championships will continue through Saturday on the campus of the University of Houston.